STIR OUR HEARTS, LORD

        “Lord, awake my soul.

                                   Let Your will be done in me.”

The above lyrics, which I consider to be more of a prayer, appears repeatedly in the worship song “Awakening“.  This “calling out” to God is what we often do, spoken or unspoken. He knows our hearts. This desire for a stirring of our hearts that is truly all-satisfying only comes from one source — God alone.

I had an interesting conversation with someone this week who admitted to an emptiness, a boredom in her life. Trying to be as sensitive as possible, a mutual friend and I told her that her heart was longing for something that would truly give her peace and contentment — another college degree, another “feather in her cap”, just wouldn’t do it. We encouraged her to seek Him — in prayer and in His word.

At times, all of us (myself included) have looked for external pleasures, goals and dreams to give us joy. And yes, there is some joy and contentment. But that joy is always fleeting…especially when those things we chase after draw us farther away from God.

So, you see this conversation not only gave us an opportunity to share our testimony, but also to recount the blessing of having a relationship with Him.

Psalms 42:1 

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you,

my God.

My prayer today is simply that we are in a place where His perfect will, can be done in our lives. Talk to God as you listen to this song.

 “Awakening”  Performed by Chris Tomlin

In our hearts, Lord, in this nation
Awakening
Holy Spirit, we desire
Awakening

For You and You alone Awake my soul, awake my soul and sing
For the world You love
Your will be done, let Your will be done in me

In Your presence, in Your power
Awakening
For this moment, for this hour
Awakening

For You and You alone
Awake my soul, awake my soul and sing
For the world You love
Your will be done, let Your will be done in me

For You and You alone
Awake my soul, awake my soul and sing
For the world You love
Your will be done, let Your will be done in me

Like the rising sun that shines
From the darkness comes a light
I hear Your voice and this is my
Awakening

Like the rising sun that shines
From the darkness comes a light
I hear Your voice and this is my
Awakening

Like the rising sun that shines
Awake my soul, awake my soul and sing
From the darkness comes a light
Awake my soul, awake my soul and sing

Like the rising sun that shines
Awake my soul, awake my soul and sing
Only You can raise a life
Awake my soul, awake my soul and sing

Written by Chris Tomlin, Daniel Carson and Nathan Nockels

Thanks for visiting AnEncouragedHeart. Signing off…God Bless! Cynthia

 

2 responses to “STIR OUR HEARTS, LORD

  1. Pingback: Awakening! ~ Bible Verses – Ephesians 5:14 « gracie creswell ♥

  2. Pingback: make up for the soul. | ♥ truelovejunkie ♥

Leave a Reply

